How To Turn Windows 10 Account Settings On or Off (Step-by-Step)

Synchronization has been a part of the OS since Windows 8 but in 10 they kind of got a makeover and some much-needed consolidation. It allows you to keep your settings when moving your desktops. This post goes over how you can disable or remove account sync settings.

When these were debuted in the version, it was safe but some people actually realized that they even existed. The fact is that many users did not upgrade to it, and syncing settings around different devices was not relevant to many users.

With Windows 10, the widely-held assumption is that most Version 7 holdouts shall upgrade finally which means many more machines shall be operated by the same user using the same Microsoft account. Therefore, it is a good time to re-introduce you to these and discuss what they all do.

In 8.1, the settings are there in the OneDrive Group. Well, we can see the logic of putting them there, but unless you still want to know then it is not likely to you to look here actually. Not only this, there are around 12 items which are too much for an average user.

Disabling Sync Center Windows 10

In version 10, these have been relocated to the accounts group are called “sync your settings”. Moreover, a number of choices have been pared down to 7, which we think is more manageable for the average non-power user.

Sync Your Settings

The first option is to turn off the sync settings altogether. This means that your account on the specific system even it is a Microsoft account is local. No changes that you make to any of the settings then on that specific system shall be replicated on other PC’s you log into with the same account.

Local Microsoft Account

Below the master, sync switch is the settings for individuals. These carry over from one system to the other that you log into with the Microsoft account.

The first ones are self-explanatory. “Theme setting” shall sync the colour and background choices which means if you want every installation to have its own then you need to turn this “off”.

After this are the “web browser settings”, the default browser in this is the Edge Browser, this shall apply to that, be it bookmarks, themes, login and so forth.

Also Read: Change Wallpaper on Unactivated Windows 10 Installation.

Any passwords which you store on this machine can always be synched to others, thus you do not put in the effort and type it all over again.

Web Browser Settings

The second half deals with “language preferences” which is quite useful if you multilingually use windows.

Now, if you use “Ease of Access” sync settings, then whatever adjustments you made on one machine to its accessibility shall carry to all other windows machines you have.

Then finally there are the “Other Windows Settings”, which we assume are desktop items like window accents, taskbar option and many others.

Other Windows Settings

With version 10 bearing down on us and so many users not upgrading to 8 or 8.1, it is a safe assumption that many of these concepts that regular users of the take for granted shall be all new to 7 or users of XP.

Tutorial: Turn On or Off Account Sync Settings in Windows 10

Version 10 lets their user sync all settings on all devices they sign into with their Microsoft Account. A few of these include language preferences, themes, and passwords. Now, what if you do not want old settings to transfer over then you can always disable and remove all the account sync settings on in. Wondering how? Well, follow through to know so.

Also Read: Repair Windows 10 Install Without Losing Data.

How does Account Sync Work

These were introduced in Windows 8 for the very first time and are there for any windows 10 device that you sign into.

Now, by default when you enable them, the window uploads different system settings and preferences towards OneDrive. When you sign in with the same account on another device on which these settings are enabled then these shall transfer over. It pretty hard, if you want your laptop and desktop to look similar or you want to retain all settings on a fresh install.

Following settings get synched:

  • Theme – Desktop background, user tile, taskbar position, etc.
  • Passwords – Windows credential manager, including Wi-Fi profiles
  • Language Preferences– Spelling dictionary, system language settings
  • Ease of Access– Narrator, on-screen keyboard, magnifier
  • Other Windows Settings– A full list.

How To Turn Off Account Sync

This limits the user to what information Microsoft sends to the cloud and stores on the servers. This is how to have control of all of the options once and for all.

Important Note: If your different devices use such settings then follow the steps below for each device.

  • Open “Settings” by clicking start and then “settings cog.” From the keyboard, you can also press “Win + I”.
  • Here, click the “accounts” option.
  • On the left side of the page, click on “sync your settings”.
  • If you want to sync some specific settings across devices and also want to limit how much information is stored then try toggling certain options “off” under the “individual sync settings” heading.
  • Else to disable altogether, switch main “sync settings” to toggle to “off” position. This shall completely disable the sub-options.

Also Read: How to Fix Radeon Graphics Driver Version Not Matching.

How To Remove Account Syncing (Forever)

This prevents your device from sending or receiving any settings to OneDrive. This might be all that you want to do. Like if you have different systems and also want most of them to sync then you disable these on the ones you don’t want to be.

Moreover, if you have disabled these on all your devices then you can also remove any of the stored information from OneDrive. It might be that you do not want to use this feature again and want it off, or maybe you want to delete all the settings, re-enable them to get a fresh new start. In either way, here’s how you do it.

Note: To remove data from the Drive account you first need to turn off the settings on all devices connected with Microsoft Account.

For this:

  • Fire up your browser, go to “delete your personal settings from the cloud OneDrive page”.
  • Scroll down; select “remove” to remove settings stored in the cloud.
  • If you need to sign it, do it using the account from which you want to remove settings information.
  • When asked for confirmation, hit “YES”.

The settings are now removed from the server. Any new device you sign in using your account shall not have any settings from the old system. If you re-enable on any of the devices then those shall start setting saved in the Drive once again. That is all I hope you have now successfully turned off the sync feature on Windows 10.

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here